Christianity / God / Jordan River / Joshua / Lord / Uncategorized

The Waymaker

flooded

Have you ever been in a season of life when things seem uncertain? When it seems like the obstacle standing between you and God’s promise is too big to overcome? When you just need the Lord to make a way? I am currently in a time of my life when I know God is propelling me forward, but I am stepping out in faith and trusting Him to meet me. I’m standing on the Word of God to sustain me, but I have no guarantee apart from His promise. I want to be in His will, but I’m relying on Him to reveal and show me His perfect will. I’m waiting on Him.

Today, I’m thinking of Moses, Joshua and the Israelites that the Lord delivered out of slavery in Egypt and took them on a wilderness journey, which lasted 40 years. It was a journey that should have only taken 11 days, but the Lord doesn’t usually do things the fast or the easy way. He does things His way. His way is always better and produces in us character and faith to sustain the call when we get the promise, but it isn’t always without pain. Still, God makes a way, and He made a way for the Israelites. Certainly, if He made a way for the Israelites, He can make a way for me.

After the Israelites left Egypt, they followed God by a pillar of fire and cloud of smoke, relying on supernatural provision each and every step of the way. God delivered them from the Egyptian army. He divided the Red Sea for them to cross over on dry land. God provided manna from heaven. He provided quail for meat. He provided water. He provided safety and protection. He walked with them every step of the way. In that 40 years, a whole generation passed away and the promise landed on the next generation with a new leader, Joshua.

Joshua, the young disciple of Moses, one that had merely fought in Moses’ army, was now leading millions of people, the next generation, to inherit the very land that God had promised them. It took them 40 years of waiting, relying, trusting, of being disciplined, corrected, and provided for by God Himself. They came all the way to the edge of the wilderness and the promised land was finally within reach. The only thing that stood between the Israelites and their long-awaited promise was the Jordan River.

The problem? The Jordan River was at flood stage. It wasn’t just a stream, it was a raging river; an overflowing, flooding body of water that over a milion people needed to cross. A row boat wasn’t going to work to get this nation to their promise.

I can only imagine how they felt. They stood across from their Promised Land–they could see it; they could smell it; they could nearly touch it; they longed for it. But a big obstacle stood in between them and their Promised Land.

Have you ever felt like you have made it so far only to find one last obstacle that separates you from your dream, but it seems impossible to overcome?  You are so close, yet so far away. I have had many times of my life where the Lord has led me so far and just when I think I am walking into the very thing I’ve prayed for, He leads me to one last obstacle that seems to big to overcome. He brings me to the brink of my wilderness season of waiting, praying, longing and dreaming. He brings me so close that I can almost see the promise; I can feel it, smell it, taste it, but a big obstacle or step of faith stands between me and His perfect will.  The Lord won’t let me get it in my own strength, will or intellect. He wants to show up on my behalf and make a way when it seems like there is no other way. He wants me to KNOW that He did it, that I didn’t make this promise happen by strong-arming God to fulfill His word. He wants me to know that the promise wasn’t just a good idea of MINE, but a promise fulfilled by His very hand. He wants to be my Waymaker, my obstacle overcomer, my promise. He not only wants to provide a miracle, a way, to show that He is indeed the One leading me, but He wants me to trust Him. After all, He is the One who makes rivers in the desert and paths in the wilderness (Isaiah 43:19).

It is just like God to bring us to the edge of our wilderness, leading us all along the way, only to come to a place that is impossible to overcome without Him. But, God is the God of the impossible. For the Israelites, He caused the river to stop and led the nation of Israel across the river to the promised land on dry ground.

I don’t know what your promise is today, but whatever it is, He is the Waymaker. When it seems impossible to us, He is making a possibility. He is showing Himself strong on our behalf. He is the God who makes a way when there is no other. He never leads us to leave us. I am young, but I know one thing: He is faithful. He is the same yesterday, today, and forever, and I can trust Him. The same God that delivered the Israelites from Egypt and led them into their promised land is leading me today. He is my Waymaker.

22 thoughts on “The Waymaker

  1. Thank you for your words of encouragement for patience. God is in control. It is not my timing, but His perfect timing.

  2. Good article! Sometimes it is so difficult to wait patiently for God’s answer! Just around the corner, God has even greater plans for you.

  3. indeed God is the God of impossibilities…Thanks for sharing this. Finally I found people in the blogsphere with the same faith as mine… It’s all about JESUS! 🙂

Leave a Reply

