Christianity / Genesis 28 / Jacob / Lord / promise of God / Uncategorized

Pillow Talk

C

I know what you are thinking. What? I thought this was a Christian blog! Pillow talk? Ok, I’m not talking about that kind of pillow talk. Although, I think we could stand to talk a little bit more often about that kind of pillow talk.

I’ll save that discussion for another day. Yeah…..I look forward to it too.

Today, I’m thinking about the kind of pillow talk Jacob experienced in Genesis 28. The kind of pillow talk that happens in those moments when we’d love to be enraptured and consumed by the blessing and promise of God, but instead we find ourselves laying on bare ground in the middle of nowhere with nothing but a rock to rest our head on.

Sometimes I think to myself, “Wouldn’t life just be easier if things would just go the way I planned them?” I didn’t say better. Just easier. I wonder if Jacob felt that way as he laid his head to rest on the rock for a pillow that night. Jacob had just left the comfort of his parents home after stealing.his father’s blessing from his brother Esau. He was on the run from his brother and to the place his father had instructed him to go. He had the blessing. He had the promise. He had left the comfortable place he had been, but hadn’t yet made it to where he was going. He didn’t know the end of the story that the rest of us know (he is a Biblical hero of epic proportion). He left his family, his dying father, a roof over his head, food on the table, provision, comfort and security. And yet, here he was, somewhere in the middle of the desert on the way to where he was going and he sets up camp. He is all alone. He finds a “stone to rest his head against to lay down to sleep.” And God begins to speak. 

Have you ever found yourself in a situation where you have left where you were, headed to where you were going with great expectation, and somewhere in between you find yourself in a desert place with a rock for a pillow? Translation: You aren’t where you want to be yet, you are a bit uncomfortable, you feel like your situation isn’t really turning out the way you thought it would and it isn’t happening as quickly as you would like. THIS I can relate to.  For you, maybe it is a relationship, finances, children, hopes, dreams, promises or expectation for the call of God. Maybe you find yourself resting your head on a rock of disappointment, frustration, loss or hopelessness. Maybe your head is a on a rock of hope, expectation and anticipation. You just aren’t where you thought you’d be just yet.

And all of a sudden, as your head rests on that rock, God begins to speak. PILLOW TALK. 

Jacob dreams and sees a stairway that reaches from earth to heaven. At the top of the stairway stands the Lord who begins to declare the promise of God over Jacob. God ends His declaration by saying, “I will not leave you until I have finished giving you everything I have promised you.” God is a promise keeper. The same thing God spoke to Jacob applies to us today. He will not leave us until He has finished EVERYTHING He has promised us.

Jacob wakes up from his dream and says, “Surely the Lord was in this place and I wasn’t even aware of it!” I have to be honest here. If I look back on every difficult, uncomfortable situation since I began following the Lord, I see that He was there with me. I don’t believe He was the author of every difficult thing I have walked through, but He has certainly used those circumstances and seasons in my life to speak to me, grow me, mature me, build character in me and to give me a testimony. He was there. He was in it even when I couldn’t see it. He was speaking.

When we find ourselves in situations or seasons of life when things seem uncertain, uncomfortable, difficult or painful, when we are waiting on the promise of God to come through, He has our ear and He begins to speak.  Sometimes they are the situations or seasons of life that God literally uses to shape us and to prepare us for our future in Him and all He has for us. Victories in life are awesome. I’m so thankful for the blessings, victories and wins that the Lord has given me. But victories aren’t usually where character is forged. Character is developed in the trenches, on the benches, in the losses and through the trials. I am thankful for the trials I have faced in life because it is those very moments that the Lord has spoken promises that I will never forget. I am thankful for the desperate prayers that the Lord has heard and how He met me. He is certainly there with us in the trials. He is moving and speaking in those seasons when our head is resting on a rock, when we aren’t where we thought we’d be, when things haven’t worked out exactly how we planned. These are the seasons God speaks words that change us forever. He does the miraculous and digs wells in our lives to sustain the call of God and to give us hope to draw on for the future.

“The next morning Jacob got up very early. He took the stone he had rested his head against, and he set it upright as a memorial pillar.” (Genesis 28:18) Sometimes, after one of those seasons of life where we have had our head resting on that uncomfortable rock that has been the catalyst for God’s foraging in our lives, we need to take the very rock He has used to shape us, speak to us and mature us and make a memorial out of it. Set it up as a pillar in our lives to sustain and support us. To remind us. We can do as Jacob did so we will never forget what the Lord did in us and what He spoke to us as we rested our head on that rock. We can look back and see that God was there and moving on our behalf. He was keeping his promise. He was preparing for the future. He was getting us ready to come through on our behalf. He never meant for that season to be just an uncomfortable night with a stone pillow. He meant for that night season to be a life changing time that we would never forget. He is eternally faithful, ever-present, all-knowing, always speaking, extravagantly loving. He will come through. He will do what He said He will do. This season is a gift He is using to show you His character. He will do all that He said He will do. So take that rock and set up a memorial to all that He has done, all He has spoken and all He will do while your head has been on it. We will never forget what He has done.

It’s the best kind of pillow talk.

10 thoughts on “Pillow Talk

  1. This is beautiful. Thank you. I am so glad you commented on my new post so I could come read this. I was discussing this with a friend tonight and I am going to share with her as well. Very timely!! I guess God wanted you to read my post so I would come and read yours.

Leave a Reply

