dark to light / god speaks / light of the world / miracles / Uncategorized

What to do when the lights go out…..

lights out

What do you do when the lights go out?

Like in the game of a lifetime for two head coach brothers competing at the Super Bowl and a rookie quarterback trying to make history, or a 17 year superstar veteran playing his last game before retiring to spend more time with his six kids and the lights go out. Your destiny pauses….just like that. The game of your life goes dark.

You’re just living and believing God and all of a sudden life pauses. You face something insurmountable, a God-sized problem that needs a God sized answer. You’re crying out to God and you can’t control it and you can’t will circumstance to turn around. You. Can’t. Move. This. Mountain. Only Jesus can.

It’s only a short 34 minutes in the length of eternity and maybe 1 billion people aren’t watching, but somehow the flame of His presence seems dim or maybe its that my prayers feel weary, or the whisper of His voice competes with screaming children, dirty dishes and loads of laundry piled on the floor and I just have to stop for five minutes right there in the middle of everything just to get a few minutes of silence in the dark to hear Him clearly. And the lights are out.

When did the lights go out? 

And I need a big huge God sized miracle. I need Him to speak right here today in the middle of all this noise.

You know, when you feel like you’re groping in the dark trying to find your way out of this God sized problem and He’s the only way out.

He is the light that turns on something inside of me that leads me out from where I was, that guides me to the finish line even when I can’t see it. He already sees the end from the beginning. He keeps me going and never stops lighting the way, even when it feels like the lights are out.

He turns the lights on. He lights up the inside of me. He is always speaking. He’s working on it even when I can’t see.

When it feels like the lights go out, I just just need Him to speak because life keeps going. The game doesn’t stop. It’s only a pause and He takes my hand and gently nudges me out. Like a whisper in the wind. He speaks and lights my way, grabs my hand, pulls me up, leads me on, guides me forward, plants seeds of joy in my life, changes me, grows me, puts me back together again and gives me His miracle word.

My gaze is on Him. He is the light that comes back on deep down inside of me. With God I win because He redeems my past, holds me in the present and makes my future forever brighter.

Isaiah 50:10″For anyone out there who doesn’t know where you’re going, anyone groping in the dark, here’s what: Trust in God. Lean on your God!”

Worship

2 Samuel 22:29 “Suddenly, God, your light floods my path, God drives out the darkness.”

Nehemiah 9:11-13 “You split the sea before them; they crossed through and never got their feet wet; You pitched their pursuers into the deep; they sank like a rock in the storm-tossed sea. By day You led them with a Pillar of Cloud, and by night with a Pillar of Fire to show them the way they were to travel.”

Psalm 18:28 “Suddenly, God, you floodlight my life; I’m blazing with glory, God’s glory!”

Psalm 43:3 “Give me your lantern and compass, give me a map, so I can find my way to the sacred mountain, to the place of your presence, to enter the place of worship, meet my exuberant God.”

Psalm 56:12-13 “God, you did everything you promised, and I’m thanking you with all my heart. You pulled me from the brink of death, my feet from the cliff-edge of doom. Now I stroll at leisure with God in the sunlit fields of life.”

Psalm 97:11 “Light-seeds are planted in the souls of God’s people, Joy-seeds are planted in good heart-soil.”

Psalm 119:105 “By your words I can see where I’m going; they throw a beam of light on my dark path. I’ve committed myself and I’ll never turn back from living by your righteous order. Everything’s falling apart on me, God; put me together again with your word.

Psalm 119:129-130 “Every word you give me is a miracle word–how could I help but obey? Break open your words, let the light shine out, let ordinary people see the meaning. Mouth open and panting, I wanted your commands more than anything.”

Isaiah 4215-16 “But I’ll take the hand of those who don’t know the way, who can’t see where they’re going. I’ll be a personal guide to them, directing them through unknown country. I’ll be right there to show them what roads to take, make sure they don’t fall into the ditch. These are the things I’ll be doing for them, not leaving them for a minute.”

89/365: Children

4 thoughts on “What to do when the lights go out…..

  1. Hey Godschick, you stopped by my other blog and asked for my new one, so I thought I’d just tell you here. i’m over here now. blessings, Sis

Leave a Reply

