Child slavery / rescue is on the way / Sexual slavery / The Exodus Road / Uncategorized / William Wilberforce

How you can be an agent of compassion and change to end child slavery. #FreedomRocks

Image

#Freedomrocks

In future years, when my children (or the younger generation) look at the world that existed on my watch, I want them to say that I made a difference. I want them to feel like the world they live in looks a little more like Jesus because of the deposit of the last generation.

When I hear and read the rescue stories from The Exodus Road and other organizations that are rescuing children out of child slavery and sex trafficking, something in my heart tugs hard. I can’t help but think of my own children and what I would hope someone would do if one of them were trapped in child slavery. I would want someone to come to their rescue. Today.

Image

With 27 million victims of human trafficking and more than half of those children sold into the sex slavery, I can’t look the other way. As a mom, my heart beats hard and I want to be there to rub a small back and whisper comfort in the ear of a young boy or girl sleeping on a cold floor or dirty mattress that their rescue is on the way. Compassion grips deep in my chest wanting to keep them from one more night of lost innocence. I can’t look away and I don’t want to.

I want to do my small part to be an agent of compassion and change that will change their life forever. They may never know my name, but I can live knowing my small part played a role in a bigger effort to bring freedom to one child with a name.

Jesus came to our rescue on a cross 2000 years ago. He bought me back, rescued me and gave me a new life. And we have an opportunity to be a rescue agent for children around the world caught in the grip of child slavery and sex trafficking. We can make a difference. The small action of one individual shouts “Child, your rescue is on the way.”

Don’t let one more day pass where we don’t take action to bring freedom to children living in the clutches of sex slavery around the world.  A little bit of effort by a lot of people can make a combined statement that screams rescue and makes a huge difference. I want to be part of the solution. Even if it was just one child, it was all worth it.

The Exodus Road believes that rescue is a community effort.

In light of this, we are beginning a monthly celebration which we are calling #FreedomRocks in which we pause the work to celebrate the victories and lives changed. These rescues are a result of the collaborative work of those in our coalition– including the local police, the NGOs involved in intervention as well as our donors, advocates, and volunteers. These 24 rocks from the past 7 months represent freedom for 24 boys and girls, all under the age of 18, who have been rescued from sexual slavery supported in some active capacity by The Exodus Road.

This month, use the hashtag #freedomrocks to bring awareness to child slavery,  join in the fight to end it and to celebrate the ones that have been rescued. It is a small thing you can do today to make a big difference.

To watch a really great video about #freedomrocks from The Exodus Road, click here!

Here are a few ways MORE you can get involved today.

  • PRAY. Pray for victims of child slavery, pray for rescues, interventions, workers in the field or however you feel led. Pray for how the Lord would have YOU get involved in fighting child slavery.
  • FOLLOW The Exodus Road on Facebook and Twitter.
  • TWEET using hashtag #freedomrocks this month to bring awareness in your sphere of influence.
  • GIVE. Fund a mission with a group or a small monthly donation. Purchase equipment for our investigators. Donate to an organization that provides aftercare for victims like the LA Dream Center’s rescue project.
  • Stay posted for more ways to give toward The Exodus Road and human trafficking at www.godschick.wordpress.com.

“You may choose to look the other way but you can never say again that you did not know.” ― William Wilberforce, politician largely responsible for abolishing slavery in the British Empire.

Subscribe to my blog via email or twitter on the sidebar to stay connected.

Love you all and have a blessed day!

11 thoughts on “How you can be an agent of compassion and change to end child slavery. #FreedomRocks

  1. Hey godschick, this sounds good, but my wife and I only have a little to give and want it to be very productive for Christ. Are these recued kids witnessed to about Christ? I may have missed it, as I only watched a little. Perhaps you can fill me in? Also, I have you listed on a page I have dedicated to “blogs I enjoy”. Just wanted you to know. keep up the good work!

    • Hey There,

      I was just at your blog and for some reason it is freezing up on your site. Anyway, I wanted to say THANK YOU so much for passing me the Beautiful Bloggers award. It means a lot to me. I will be posting about it in the next day or two. Thank you again!! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

