Christianity / find rest for your soul / Five Minute Friday / rest / Uncategorized

Rest

rest

That elusive word that haunts a mama of three: rest. And I’m just now writing last Friday’s post. Rest.

The sleepless nights and restless days that keep going and going and going and going and we just don’t stop. We have dishes to wash, laundry to fold, children to feed, needs to meet and sometimes we feel like giving up before we dish out our first bowl of cereal (or in my case, gluten free oatmeal, but that is another post). And yet, it’s the most rewarding, grace-filled and hands-down best season of a woman’s life. These years have been my MOST blessed.

20130222-154231.jpg

And in the midst of the harried days and unbrushed hair (and mostly brushed teeth…thank God), the rest I long for is not for a well slept body, but a rested soul. I don’t want a self full life and an empty soul, but a full soul and a laid down life that rests in my Savior.

If all I have is doing doing doing and never being, I’ve missed my purpose.

Life is too short to sweat the small stuff, yet I sweat it all day and lay down at night wishing for a repeat, yet I find my soul rests in His grace. The rest I need doesn’t come in more “me” time but in “Him” time and He always meets me. He alone brings rest for my soul.

When I read about my missionary friends feeding starving mouths and malnourished bodies and watching children walk half a day in bare feet and torn clothes for drinking water, I somehow find I can’t complain about the dishes in my sink with running water. When I remember mission trips past in shanty towns in large third world cities and the children who had never owned a toy, I can’t complain about the toys scattered across my hardwood floor. We’re blessed.

And when my soul longs for a break, my break comes from breakthrough from my Heavenly Father. He alone sustains my soul. He feeds my hungry heart with the bread of life that meets every spiritual hunger pang.

When my soul feels empty and all of me emptied out over my precious three, He fills me.

When days seem long and time seems short, my soul can only find rest in my Savior.

I don’t want to miss the moments and precious years while my kids are young filling my life full of busyness and missing the One who really satisfies. I don’t want to give my kids all of everything and yet let them miss the God who will really ever give them all they’ll ever need. Jesus.

He alone brings rest to my soul. 

Five Minute Friday is a feature over at Lisa-Jo Bakers TALES FROM A GYPSY MAMA blog.

So, let’s do this thing. Let’s write.

Set your timer, clear your head, for five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right.

Image

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

8 thoughts on “Rest

      • Awww….. thank you Kirsten!! I love you too dear sister. My face is full of smiles to the point that my cheeks are hurting! Lol. I am always humbled and thankful thankful that I can be an encouragement to you as I only know how to speak from my heart. God is an awesome Father and I am so thankful that we are connected! Your post truly spoke to me. It was my Chicken Noodle Soup for the Soul and I am FILLED! Wonderful timing of The Lord!

        Hugs forever!! ❤

  1. I love this! Finding rest in Jesus is the best source of relaxation and comfort–it doesn’t get any better than Him!

  2. this is great! i had this revelation last year, while rocking my third child to sleep…the rest I need is in God..if only I could have received that revelation with baby number 1!!! but its so true, when our soul is rested ,we are rested.

  3. Pingback: Right Here, Right Now | It Just Dawned On Me

Leave a Reply

