Uncategorized

Remember

20130322-164900.jpg

Note from my older self to my NOW self:

Remember they are only young once. Spend your days well loving them because in a heartbeat they’ll be grown and your time will be over.

Teach them, play with them, grow them and let them make big messes. And don’t let it stress you out so much.

And don’t be in such a hurry.

20130322-164726.jpg

Don’t sweat the small stuff because moments are made of small stuff, days are made by moments, and the little things will shape them brick by brick and mold them into the men and woman they will become.

Lay down your dreams to make their dreams come true and let God make all your dreams come true. He will.

Remember to make recipes from scratch and let them pour EVERYTHING in the bowl themselves and don’t care about the mess. Let them jump in puddles and get muddy and run barefoot and make happy memories.

20130322-164822.jpg

Listen to what they have to say no matter how unimportant it seems because one day they’ll have important things to say and if you don’t listen when they’re young, they won’t tell you when they’re old because to them it was important all along.

You’ll forget about a day when dishes didn’t get washed and you won’t remember the day the beds weren’t made, but you’ll never regret dropping it all to spend a special second nurturing a young soul.

Let them see your imperfections. Ask forgiveness. Guard your heart. Show them you are on this journey to the Cross with them.

Discipline them well, but love them even better. Nurture, hug, cuddle, let them sneak into your bed. It won’t be long before they’ll have a family of their own and you’ll miss those snuggly elbows poking you in the night.

Read to them everyday.

Enjoy the seconds because they turn in to minutes that turn into hours that turn into days that turn into years.

And they pass quick.

20130322-165008.jpg

Love your husband and respect him because one day your sons will love a woman the way you let him love you and your daughter will look for a man just like him.

And love Jesus more than anything. Passionately. If they get anything from you, let it be Him.

Remember.

Five Minute Friday is a feature over at Lisa-Jo Bakers TALES FROM A GYPSY MAMA blog.

So, let’s do this thing. Let’s write.

Set your timer, clear your head, for five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right.

Image

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

27 thoughts on “Remember

  1. I love this. I love that you included a reminder about loving our husbands well. I needed that today. Thank you!!!

    Visiting from Lisa’s!

  2. This is a beautiful post! Precious words and so true. This brought make many memories when our children were young. Now I have the joy of living them again with our grandchildren. It’s the best!

    Visiting from Five Minute Friday
    Donna from More Grace :: donnaharris.wordpress.com

  3. Ohhhh such powerful and real truths you write. I love this and totally agree…….Motherhood is made up of these precious fleeting moments.

  4. This was awesome. I thought I read:
    “turn into hours that turn into days that turn into tears”.. had to reread that line again.
    This was a good reminder. Thanks.

    • Ooh….I should change that line to what you thought you read….that would be GOOD, but that’s against the rules. It really can be true, either years of fulfillment or regret. God help
      Mine to be out of a full heart!

  5. Great Post!!! Something kind of funny…When my youngest was about three, my mom gave me the cutest decorative, hand painted, pine wood bench for my house…my son decided to draw little stick figures with his markers along one entire side. I was incredibly…errr…angry, frustrated disappointed. Thankfully, I calmly explained, through my gritted teeth..that he was supposed to color on paper..blah, blah, blah…I’m sure you know what I’m talking about. Any Hoo..fast forward 13 years…He’s sixteen now- I pulled the bench out from the wall to clean behind it (please don’t judge that it’s taking me this long to clean back there=)…and saw all his little drawings..which almost melted my heart…they are so precious to me now…I think it gives the bench incredible character and pleasant memories…NOW! My moral was…it seemed like such a big deal back then…and now I’m happy to have those adorable little mementos…hopefully I can show my grand kids one day, what their dad did when he was little! Sorry so long! =)

    • I love that!! Yes, we’ve also had a few of those moments with pen and sharpies in the wrong places. I love that story!! Thanks for telling it….so sweet.

  6. Great post and so true. Our children grow up so quickly and soon we are grandparents, with a 2nd opportunity.

  7. Arlene, I was thinking the same thing. Our children grow up so quickly and grandchildren give us the second chance to play, sit, run, make messy art projects, listen and truly enjoy!

    • That is what I’ve heard and oh so afraid of missing moments with the tyranny of the urgent. I don’t want to waste these precious years, thanks to wise moms like you that have told me it goes by in a blink!

Leave a Reply

