blessing / Christianity / Five Minute Friday / God / Uncategorized

After….when blessing comes in the rain

dancingin rain

Yesterday it rained. No, it poured. The overcast skies cast a gloomy shadow over the lake, over the city. The streets glared wet. This urban landscape seemed gray and dark.

And this last year felt like one of those stormy seasons in the life of my family.

My husband resigned from his position as Senior Pastor at a church that we love with many people we love, we moved two times in hopeful expectation for what we thought God had spoken and trusted Him as we stepped out in faith. We were so excited for all God was going to do. It felt like a dream come true.

And guess what? Things didn’t work out like we planned. We encountered disappointment. We asked God if maybe we heard Him wrong. My grandpa died. I know two families who lost young children. We moved again. My heart broke a little bit.

But I trust Jesus. I don’t want to plan my own way and make my own will happen. God is not a magic genie moved by the whim of our fancy.

He is a faithful God that loves us. Like a good father, He values relationship with us and who we become too much to let this life be a refreshing swim in the community pool that never changes us. As sure as the sun rises, we’ll go through hard times. But how we respond to Jesus determines how we come out of it.

20130405-140045.jpg

Like a raging river smoothes a rock, this hard season has softened us, sharpened us, shaped us, beat down on us and it has been hard to hang on.  God never said character was grown in the victory. Rocks aren’t shaped in the pool.  Character is shaped in the storm. Winds can rage, water falls, floods rise, but He is Lord over it all.

And sometimes blessing comes in the rain.

And the grass isn’t greener on the other side, it is green where it’s been watered. Rain grows things. Rain washes and cleanses and sustains. Rain brings life.

20130405-140947.jpg

20130405-140957.jpg

These blessings that came as raindrops have touched my soul this year. We’ve had tears. We’ve had joy. His faithful blessing has poured out like rain and brought life to some dead areas of my life. It wasn’t the easy days that woke me up inside, it was keeping my eyes on Jesus through some hard ones.

Today I look out my window and the lake beyond our balcony glistens. Yesterday’s rain washed over this city and brought a peaceful calm.  The sun breaks through with a pure brightness that only comes after the rain. Light dawns. He has brought a new day, new mercy. Life is good. And I am so thankful for the rain.

We are blessed. He has established us, rooted us and I am more thankful than ever for the hard seasons. He does things in us we can’t get any other way than walking through them. We can’t walk around obstacles, we walk through them and He walks right there with us and brings us out stronger and in His perfect will.  We are still in full time ministry, planted at a church we love, our marriage is stronger than ever and my kids are flourishing. We’ve been through a hard season, but His grace is stronger. After the rain comes thanksgiving.

I’m learning to love the rain. The heavens open and pour it out as blessing. And after the rain comes new life and He is there.

Endings are better than beginnings. Sticking to it is better than standing out.” –Ecclesiastes 7:8

How about you? Have you gone through anything recently or in the past that has been a hard season or “rainy” season that turned out to be a blessing?

Photo Credit (dancing in rain)

Five Minute Friday is a feature over at Lisa-Jo Bakers TALES FROM A GYPSY MAMA blog.

So, let’s do this thing. Let’s write.

Set your timer, clear your head, for five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right.

Image

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

65 thoughts on “After….when blessing comes in the rain

  1. I am still sitting in the rain. It’s been “raining” for about three years. Sometimes, it looked like the sun would shine bright only to be followed by an even bigger rain storm.
    I am clinging to unwasted-ness of it all. Clinging. Letting go isn’t an option.
    Thank you for sharing your story. Reading of others going through the storm and coming to the other side better and stronger is truly encouraging.

    • Ahhh, that blesses me that it encourages you. I needed people to encourage me this year too….and I had to be a big encourager for my husband. All I can say is enjoy the season as hard as it might be because we look back on them and God does something sweet. So glad you stopped by today.

    • Yes, so true. He definitely uses suffering as a refining tool. Thankful for being refined! Thankful for those seasons. I stopped by your blog and loved it! Blessings!

  2. I loved what you said about the Grass not being greener on the other side, but green where it is watered. It’s tough going through hard times. I have been “dancing” in the rain (or rather learning too) for over a decade now. 🙂 That is how I came up with the We Live Inspired name. I choose to live inspired in the rain..when my life changed practically overnight and things didn’t go as planned, I learned how to have joy in spite of. Right where I am at. I seek light daily and continue to create fun things when it would be easy to be negative. I know I am not alone, and you are not alone. Lots of people have these storms to “dance” through, but they just look different for each person. I have seen many many blessings come out of this long rainy season. I guess when we seek blessings, they appear everywhere :D. Cheers to you and keep on dancin through it all 😉 ~Rebekah

  3. “Rain brings life.” This small little sentence really jumped out and grabbed my heart..exactly the reminder I needed for this season of life. Thank you for sharing…have a great weekend!

  4. Wonderfully written and personally moving to read. Thank you for sharing your life in print and especially giving God all the praise and glory for blessings, no matter the form they take in your life. Let’s keep dancing in the rain and jump in the puddles!

  5. This is lovely! Glad to hear that God has used the rain to smooth you guys and lead you. Also, there is a line in here that is very close to a line in a Justin Bieber song…which is totally random (and random that I KNOW that) and so I had to share that fun fact. 🙂

  6. “As sure as the sun rises, we’ll go through hard times. But how we respond to Jesus determines how we come out of it.” Beautiful words you’ve shared! My husband and I have had many raining seasons, but new life has certainly come as a result. Thank you for sharing. Thank you too for your comment on my FMF post. Blessings to you.

  7. There have been years of ‘storms’ in my life, and always, I’ve been astounded to find God’s grace in the midst of it all, and His drawing us closer when answers seem furthest away from us. A precious testimony, thank you so much for sharing…Prayers and blessings, and may God open doors before you which no one can shut and which bring Him greater glory.

  8. finally able to pop over and check out your site. what gorgeous “likkle ones” as we say, in our family! you have a beautiful family.

    i loved this sentence: “But I trust Jesus. I don’t want to plan my own way and make my own will happen. God is not a magic genie moved by the whim of our fancy.” probably because i know that well, but i still often act as though i believe He is.

    wonderful, wonderful post and testimony. thank you for sharing!

    • Thank you! Yes, that is so true and sometimes we learn that by going through difficult things. Thankful for those seasons now! Blessings to you and your “likkle” ones. Love that. So cute!!!

  9. Brilliant Blog. I love how brave you were stepping out in faith and that God has honoured it though perhaps not in the ways you expected when the first step was taken. I know what it is like to go through hard times and to see what God does with them. You are so right when you say nothing is wasted. I forgot that recently but God has been reminding me so beautifully.
    Thank you for your blog. I am so glad that the sun has come out for you.

  10. Pingback: Rolling River God – Nicole Nordeman | thethinkingofthoughtsblog

  11. Thank you for your post and for your honesty and openness about what life can be like “at the sharp end”. Be encouraged, keep praying and keep supporting each other. My wife taught me to focus on the little signs of hope amongst all the negativity – snowdrops growing through the hard earth.

    Thank you for visiting my blog.

  12. “though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior.
    The Sovereign Lord is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to go on the heights.” Habakkuk 3:17-19 Thank you for sharing your story of perservence and hope. Our God is faithful and worthy of praise!!! Blessings to you and your family!

  13. I trust I am not speaking out of place here. I remember when we were a small young family. We were at a crossroads when God showed us to “go into all the world and preach the Gospel to every creature” We had two young children about the ages of your little ones and a new born baby.

    We decided to step out and trade our security of a stable situation for the uncertainty of living by faith. We bought ourselves a combi van and hit the road.

    It was the beginning of many years of living by faith on the road sharing God’s love wherever we went and watching God do miracle after miracle (the little things) in taking care of our needs.

    Most of all our children watched God in action through us and when they got older through them too.

    Oh what a great life style if even only for a short while to taste a life of living by faith.

    And the memories are some of the best.

    Try it you just might like it.

    • I couldn’t agree more! What a blessing we have to get to show our kids how to live by faith by walking it out in front of them. I so admire you for stepping out in faith with three young kids and your testimony about it. I can’t wait to read more of your blog. I am so encouraged by your response today and thank you so much for sharing that story. If you don’t mind me asking, where did you go? Do you have a memorable story of you God miraculously provided? We are in a place of needing to see the Lord miraculously provide and I have so much expectation of how the Lord will move. It sure is a walk of faith though and sometimes a little scary when we have three small kids when we don’t know the outcome. Thank you again for stopping by and I am really looking forward to reading more of your blog and story. Sounds like I have a lot to learn from you and to be encouraged by in your testimony and faihftulness to God! Blessings.

  14. stumbled upon your blog .this is truly inspiring. ..faith is what defines us as believers…without faith and complete trust in our all knowing God….our lives would be miserable. .God is awesome. .He never fails..
    May we continue to stay strong as we continue in our journey of faith

    God bless you.

    • Yes and amen. So glad your found me! Your comment blesses me! I’m looking forward to dropping by your blog also. God is always faithful in EVERY season, isn’t He? Blessings to you today!!

  15. Thanks Godschick (love that name),

    I am American, my wife Australian and I was living in Australia at the time. We launched out and just went city to city and wherever the Lord lead us.

    You inspired me to write a blog post on the subject but let me just say this. That I can still see God smiling down on us shaking his head at our attempt in the beginning to exercise our faith. He must really enjoy His children when they step out of the box and do something different for him. I can still imagine his smiling at us. I think He was really proud of us too.

    I will have to share some story’s at another time but I want you to know this. That always, God supplied all our needs while on the road and never ever let us down. Our times on the road living for the Lord were some of the most memorable.

    May the Lord bless you and your little family as you seek him for His will in your lives at this exciting time.

  16. Great post sister. The faith that the world is really looking for today is the faith from God’s people who can still praise Him in the midst of the storm, still trust Him, even if He slays us as Job said. The Hebrew children said that even if they had to die in the midst of the furnace that they would never bow down to the gods of this world. The enemy hated that sentiment so much that he made the fire 7 times hotter, but the heat only increased the testimony, for there He was in the midst of it, right there with His children. Praise God that we can bring Him glory in the midst of the storms of life. When we are weak than He is strong. Yet even here our beloved Heavenly Father hears the cries of His children and knows our hearts and our needs……………….bro Frank

    Lord have you seen my tears?
    Can’t you see I’m drowning in my fears?
    I try to run but there’s no where left to hide
    I fall to my knees because I’m dying here inside

    I lift my eyes and there’s darkness all around
    I try to get up but I fall back to the ground
    I try to scream but I cannot make a sound
    I’m lost and alone and I never shall be found

    Reach down and touch me Lord wont you please?
    For if you don’t I’ll die here on my knees
    My heart is broken and has spilled out all my love
    My only hope is a touch from up above

    The darkness Lord has consumed my very soul
    To survive one more night is my only goal
    Hope has abandoned me and left me high and dry
    And with this last breath I lift my voice and cry

    Oh Lord Jesus wont you hear this plea
    I’m bound and chained and longing to be free
    This one last breath is all I have to give
    Save my soul from death so that I once more may live

    Listen child I have heard your plea’s
    I see you dying there down upon you knees
    I see your broken heart, the pieces on the ground
    I see that storm that is raging all around

    I speak to that storm and it shall be stilled
    I will replace that broken heart and it shall be filled
    Take my hand and get up from off you knees
    Look around and see that I have stilled the stromy sea’s

    Walk with Me and know you’re not alone
    Let us dwell together here before my holy throne
    Let my peace replace all of your fears
    For my love for you has wiped away all the tears

    • Wow!!!! Beautiful and profound and so very true. Thank you for your words and encouragement Brother. You will be (and are) am encouragement and lifeline to Jesus for many walking in the midst of the storms of life. He never promises that we won’t go through storms, but guarantees His presence in the midst. Keep our eyes in Jesus and what a great big God we serve and our circumstance becomes small in His hands. He is lord over the storm and able to bring us through it. I love this discussion and all your words of life right here in this post. Blessings to you!

      • Hi sister, well if there is one thing that is guaranteed to the saints that are living there lives in the Lord Jesus , it is trials and afflictions. There is , of course, an enemy of our souls and he undoubtedly brings his own troubles to our lives, yet, of course, there is the refining fires that burn away the flesh and take the dross from the gold so that it shines brightly for all the world to see. Many can embrace a God that will only bless them ( in fact this is part of the Job story) but few there are, in these days in which we live, that can embrace a God that calls them to enter into the sufferings of our Lord or even called them to martyrdom. If we look at the lives of the Apostles, the early saints, or for that matter, the proceeding 2000 years, we indeed see a suffering church that, even although small, thrived despite persecution and trial. We only have to look at the state of Christianity in the West, as opposed to say, China, or North Korea, or the Sudan, to see that Christians who only want to be ” blessed,” have a shallow faith that is all about their best life now, here on this earth. These persecuted saints in underground churches are living Kingdom lives and are focused not on being personally blessed in this life, but on storing up riches for themselves in the life to come. As for the notion that only blessings come from God ( and one could talk about what really is a blessing) one has to deal with Scriptures such as

        Heb 12:5 And ye have forgotten the exhortation which speaketh unto you as unto children, My son, despise not thou the chastening of the Lord, nor faint when thou art rebuked of him:
        Heb 12:6 For whom the Lord loveth he chasteneth, and scourgeth every son whom he receiveth.
        Heb 12:7 If ye endure chastening, God dealeth with you as with sons; for what son is he whom the father chasteneth not?

        Since it is oftentimes impossible to truly know the hows and the whys of our troubles in this life, our response to them should always be the same. We should respond in humility and hope and love and ultimately praise, so that no matter the circumstances, we have searched our hearts and know that we stand, lest we may fall, we know that God is faithful to complete the work that He started in us, hope, not as the world hopes but our hope is an assurance, and praise which is a sign of victory and also the Lord inhabits our praises……..bro Frank

      • Amen to all that you have said. My husband and I were just discussing something similar. When we see even Jesus’ life and the suffering He endured we can take heart. One of my favorite verses is just before what you wrote in Heb 12:2 “for the joy that was set before Him He endured the cross” and that joy was you and me to reconcile a lost and hurting world to Himself. Romans 5:3 even says we can glory in our suffering….and in 1 Peter 4:13 that calls it a privilege to partake in Christ’s suffering. That being said, I have not endured suffering an any way like the apostles or early church martyrs, nor like today’s persecuted or underground church and probably most of the Western church has not endured this kind of suffering. When I put my “trials” in that light, mine seem very trivial and SOOO small. But we serve a BIG GOD and in light of His glory our trials and momentary circumstances become VERY SMALL! But 1/3 of the new testament letters were written to the persecuted church and when we look at the apostles and early church and the persecuted church over the last 2000 years it is impossible to make the argument that only blessing comes from God. Afflictions will come! I think Peter is one of my favorite men in the Bible and his joy through trials is such an example of how to walk through hardship….with JOY! You are so right….it is not what we go through, but instead HOW we go through it in a faith response to Jesus and that we don’t hope as the world hopes but to hope in Him. So thankful for the blessing of the Lord and while I do not believe God is the author of suffering, it is a shallow faith that believes blessing only and “fuzzy warm feelings” come from God. I have friends that are missionaries in the 10/40 window now and the stories of the persecuted church make me cry and stir my faith. One of my favorite books is a book by Randy Alcorn called “Safely Home” based on the persecuted church in China. I was so moved. Our western christianity looks quite different that the persecuted church! This is quite the discussion we have going on here. I am so blessed by your response and thoughtfulness and insight. I am moved by your insight and depth of your response. Might I ask….where are you from? Blessings to you Bro Frank.

      • I was born and raised in Scotland, came to the States when I was 27, I live in sunny Kansas 🙂 ……….bro Frank

  17. Beautifully written. I’m so glad Jesus brought you through this period and by His grace He brought you and your family out so much stronger. Ahh all Glory be to God! X

  18. We moved to Uganda with promises of jobs and houses and a passion in our heart to serve God with all we had…things didnt work out, we didnt have a house or a job. We were there 6 months before we unexpectadly fell pregnant, came home, and then lost our baby. It sounds like the whole adventure was a huge fail, but God placed a desire in our heart for missions, he placed a dream in our hearts to release local people into ministry and 5 years later, out of that intense disapointment we travelled to India and launched our ministry. Sometimes I think humanly things seem to fail, but God has a plan.

  19. A rich message and so True GODSCHICK, God works everything out for good in our lives, His plans for us are wonderful not evil (see below) and we don’t have to give give thanks for the storms meaning the suffering and disappointments that we encounter in life, they are not by God’s hands but as you shared we give thanks that He never lets us go through the storms alone and in our trials we are strengthened and learn to Trust and depend on God not ourselves so what Satan means for evil God uses for good. If our lives are a mess we can give thanks that God will sort the mess out as we leave it in His hands they are bigger then the mess.

    Today I have been overwhelmed for the need to share the verses below I hope you will also be encouraged and uplifted as I always am remembering just how much God Loves us.

    Lamentations 3: 33 For He doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

    Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

    Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    • Thank you for reading and the bible verses. Yes, God does not bring affliction upon us, I’m certainly not saying that, but He is Lord over it all. And we all will go through things when we are Christ followers, but we keep our eyes on Him and He brings us through….i believe He doesn’t always just deliver us from hard circumstance, but walks through it with us. i also don’t believe that going through hard seasons means we have messed up somehow. I believe in the sufficiency of Gods grace and also the miraculous And His ability to deliver, heal, etc. He uses those seasons in our lives and often anointing and maturity comes through walking through hardship and it sure gives us compassion for the lost and broken that need Him. Blessings to you

      • God knows exactly were we are at GODSCHICK and what is needed so in regards to you and your Husband, when one door closes God opens another, He always plans good for us not evil.

        It’s very True what we both shared and the Scriptures confirm that suffering and hardship do not come from God, we live in a fallen world and Satan puts us to the test as he did Job but as God’s redeemed Children He is faithful and keeps us strong to the end and brings good from what we endure like perserverance and stability and for this we rejoice and do not give up. Fleshy people hurt us even some who call themselves Christians, we encounter problems and hardships in life but God is faithful and never lets us go it alone, unless we choose to go our own way then we reap what we sow, He will never go against our free will but He Loves us greatly and so His discipline and chastising is not pleasant because when we rebel we are no longer in fellowship with Him, our sin blocks Him from comming close and so He sees us from afar and we have time out Yuk! and so like the Prodigal son we do suffer and even despair but what a wonderful, warm welcome when we come to our senses.

        My 7 Children are in Heaven but I have had much contact with Children, I was a carer in an Orphanage and was trained as a Pre-School Kindergarten Teacher and was a Governess till I married but I have also been greatly blessed with being in Ministry to Children in Churches over the years and as a R,E Teacher for many years and in my Funday Schools. As a Mother you understand that it is very important for you to train your Children to mature in God’s Love and faith, so you teach them by words and example acceptable behaviour, like being kind and thoughtful, to share, to respect their elders, to value their friends, to be polite, to be obedient, to be honest, to forgive etc and when they do these things you don’t punish them or do you plan harm for them and sometimes you even reward them and the good they do also rewards them, they feel good too, unless someone tells them their worthless and they believe it.

        God moulds and shapes us by the Fruit of The Spirit ( Galatians 5 ) and as we choose to walk in them He empowers us to do so, and we are greatly blessed, we must put our evil flesh to death if we are to be perfected in God’s Love, both good and evil cannot co-exist, when we come close to God Satan flees, he cannot stand to be around goodness, we stink to him of his own death but to those who are being saved we have a pleasant fragrance of God’s Love, Hope, Joy and Peace and this is regardless of the mud Satan flings at us or the mess we are going through, we remember all that Jesus and Paul suffered and went through but good seeds were still planted that had good fruit, we are the evidence of this.

        Romans 8 :12-15 Therefore, brothers, we have an obligation—but it is not to the sinful nature, to live according to it. or if you live according to the sinful nature, you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live, because those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.

        Christian Love from both of us – Anne

  20. great post. LOVE it. :o) just read this after writing my last post…we are paralleling a bit again. feeling the same in many ways. Praying for new blessing each day for ya in the middle of the crazy.

  21. I just feel so much love growing in my heart..Fellowshipping on this wall..God has promised and he would never fail..his faithfulness is forever more…As long as we have faith we would never walk alone…God bless you all.

  22. I wanted to stop by and say thank you for the follow and to check out your wonderful blog. I cannot wait to read more. I am so sorry your plans did not work out. When I am not sure I always ask God for a sign. Two years ago I felt like He was calling me to do something and I was not sure if it was Him or me? I asked Him for a sign and He told me, “I will send you a stray dog.” (I love dogs.) I never made a move and two months later here she came. I now have a 70 pound lab who was starving to death. I always tell her, “You and I both know why you are here.”

    After she came I did what He had spoken to my heart. Love the kids pictures. God Bless, SR

    • It is good that things didn’t work out exactly as I had thought….the Bible says we plan our ways but HE orders our steps and I am so thankful that He is ordering my steps. His plan is better than my best expectation or hopes of how something will work out. God is always faithful and I know and trust that He wants me to fulfill my purpose and destiny in Him even more than I do and that He is leading and guiding us along the way. Not always easy, but so worth it. I love that you stopped by my blog. I’m excited to read yours. Thank you and bless you today!

  23. Wow! Great words showing great faith, great video and great pictures! All of them very inspiring, especially the kids’ pics as I also have kids who’re just as fantastic. Well, at least to me 🙂

    • I’m sure they aren’t just fantastic to you….anyone I have ever heard say that their kids are “fantastic, but I am biased” isn’t usually just biased but RIGHT. I’m sure they are fantastic! Thank you for your encouraging words and for liking my kids pics. 🙂 I think they are cute kids (but of course, I am biased.) 🙂 Blessings to you today and hope you keep coming back here!

  24. Hi God’s Chick, “out of the mouths of babes,” one will never know what will come out! Sweet that God’s Dude came up with your sites name. How sweet is that? You have a beautiful family. So glad you pray good things over them. They will never forget it.

    You have a lovely site here. You are very open and as Katy above said, “vulnerable.” I recently read something that said in essence, a writer is what they write. I’m sure your site is lovely because you, the creator of the site, are also lovely.

    I too am a pastor’s wife and hubby and I are church planting in Ca. I see you are in the Bay Area. We are grateful and have been experiencing God’s blessings and the church is growing.

    Thank you for the like on my blog.

    We need the rain don’t we? To everything there is a season…

    • Where are you in CA ? You are a church planter? That is so great! Where are you from? I’d love to hear more about that. I am originally from the Seattle area….it rains a LOT there. Not so much rain here in CA, but God brings those seasons. Thank you for your encouraging words! Blessings to you…. And hope to hear back from you!

    • I visited your blog…. Love the post about WW2. God is so faithful! I tried leaving a comment, but for some reason I can’t so I decided to just let you know that I stopped by and live it! I can tell you are a woman of the Word! Blessings!

  25. Yesterday as I looked around me I wondered why it feels so hard sometimes and what I may be doing wrong to not be basking in the joy and blessings of the lord. Then I wondered if its really a reality as a person seeking the will of god to be in that all the time. When I look back 2-3 years ago when I was sick a lot it was the time that I constantly cried out to god and started to understand the cross and how much he loves us. You think in blessing you have awe for god not suffering. Now I see myself stronger and more commit ed to him than before. I sometimes get the joy and awe and basking but it requires me to enter into his presence. Sometimes it comes when suffering is all around me or sometimes when I start toi sing and listen to worship. The cross pointed to suffering and agony where after the glory of god was revealed. In jesus death god made him alive forevermore. The king of kings and lord of lords. We need to be strong in him suffering brings strength. Help us lord in our suffering to dr aw strength from you.

Leave a Reply

