Christianity / Ecclesiastes 4:9-12 / Five Minute Friday / Friendship / relationships / Uncategorized

Two Are Better Than One–Friends

friends two are better than one

I’m so thankful for my girlfriends.

As a pastor’s wife, trust me when I say I have needed to know who my real friends are.

As the years have gone on, my circle of friends has grown smaller and more intimate. Geographic distance separates us (as most of them are also in full time ministry impacting the nations, literally, or impacting some corner of the U.S.) and our time together now consists of a weekend every now and then or an occasional phone call.

I won’t lie, it can be lonely to be far from good friends. How I would love to chat with them every morning over coffee while they kids play.

When we do get that time together?  It’s as if no time has passed at all. Jesus is the foundation.

I treasure these friends.

Here’s why we need girlfriends and what God-breathed friendship has meant for me (cut and pasted straight out of Ecclesiastes 4:9-12):

Two people are better off than one, for they can help each other succeed. 10 If one person falls, the other can reach out and help. But someone who falls alone is in real trouble. 11 Likewise, two people lying close together can keep each other warm. But how can one be warm alone? 12 A person standing alone can be attacked and defeated, but two can stand back-to-back and conquer. Three are even better, for a triple-braided cord is not easily broken. (Ecclesiastes 4:9-12 NLT)

1) Multiplied Effectiveness: One sets 1,000 to flight and two sets 10,000 to flight. We stand together and accomplish more than we ever could have done alone. Together we succeed and find joy in each other’s success. And, sometimes we just need a shoulder to lean on and a word of comfort over a cup of coffee or late night Skype call to know that “we’re in this together” as we set our eyes on eternity.

2) Protection and Security: We need the protection and security of friends that will not let us fall, that care less about our comfort and more about God’s best for us. These are the kind of friends that won’t let us settle for less than our best, protect us from falling and stand at our side when we do. They speak the brutal truth, always in love.

3) Strength and Support: Good friends are like hot burning logs in a campfire that burn smoldering hot long after the kindling flames out. Together we fan a flame in one another that keeps us from getting burned out and dried up. We strengthen each other to fan into flame a greater passion for Jesus and His call on our lives.

4)Unity and Victory: Alone we stand defeated, but two can conquer together. These kind of friends stand together in honesty and transparency until we see victory in each other’s lives. Who doesn’t want to live a victorious Christ-centered life with a good friend to walk with along the way?

Good friends are hard to find, but certainly a {necessary} treasure worth searching for. We need friends like this.

Thankful for my friends today and standing side by side through the years, even though distance separates us.

You have made an eternal impact on my life.

Photo Credit.

Five Minute Friday is a feature over at Lisa-Jo Bakers TALES FROM A GYPSY MAMA blog.

So, let’s do this thing. Let’s write.

Set your timer, clear your head, for five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right.

Image

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

Related articles

37 thoughts on “Two Are Better Than One–Friends

  1. I hear you! Some of my dearest friends have moved away and it’s hard, but I feel like it’s so much easier these days to keep in touch with long distance friends, than it used to be.

    • I know, it sure is. I just replied to someone else that it must have been hard years ago when people left for the mission field and would be so much more isolated than now. (Many of my friends are on the mission field). I love handwritten letters (and one of my goals is to GET BETTER and more consistent at handwritten letters….I’m terrible), but the instantaneous communication we have via internet is so fabulous to stay in touch with sweet friends! Blessings to you and thank you for stopping by my blog!

    • That is funny! But, friendships are worth their weight in gold, but hard to find. Thank you for taking the time to stop over here and read a post. It blessed me. Love your blog. Blessings to you!

  2. Blessings,

    I must say this is a wonderful post. You definitely have great compassion while exuding God’s character. Keep up the God work. When given the opportunity you should take a stroll through my blog and tell me what you think.

    God bless

  3. When talking about friendship, a reoccurring phenomenon in my life is something that can only be described as “finding brothers and sisters”. The first time this happened, I didn’t know what to do with it. I was working a church retreat in high school with a girl who is a couple of years older than me and I felt attracted to her, but not in the way of wanting to “date” her. I could not figure this emotion out, at least not at first. Then it dawned on me that the idea of having sisters (and brothers) in Christ is mentioned all throughout the New Testament and this feeling, that I have deemed a “sister-crush”, was not too far from possible, moreover, it should be expected. To this day, she is like an older sister to me. Here at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, I have found a number of girls who fit the same description. From one who took me under her wing starting at a party, the first day I was on campus, to the one who has invited me to bible studies and to get involved with a campus Greek ministry called the Cross, God has blessed me with a beautiful picture of sisterhood. Friendships with guys, however, are a different story. All through high school I struggled to get that close group of men– or even one, who I could share Christ, much less a football game with. The group, let’s be honest, clique I found and attempted to insert myself into wouldn’t take me, at least not without ridiculing me behind my back and I forced myself into a mold of trying to be cool in order to find their acceptance. Thankfully, at the beginning of my senior year I met my twin by a different mother. With our families being virtually mirror images of one another (even down to both having a brother ‘Andrew’ who’s the same age) we became fast friends. Over the summer after my senior year, God continued to transform my understanding of gaining brothers. The last night of “Senior Stay”, after a church retreat to the beach, found most of the guys from my backbiting clique being called out by a youth leader who had noticed our acid-tongue, hateful, exclusive attitudes towards one another and had felt some of it himself. We all were cut to the heart, prayed for forgiveness, confessed our sins to one another for hours, hugged it out, and we left the next morning united. I carried with me a new-found sense of brotherhood and for the rest of the summer I knew what it was like to be loved and accepted by men other than my Father and blood-brothers. The most recent movement to solidify this concept of “acquired siblinghood” came in this past semester at UT Knoxville. Having just been initiated into the Fraternity, BYX (Brothers Under Christ), I have continued to gain a far greater understanding of being surrounded by brothers. Sure I’m close with twenty other guys I went through pledgeship with, but there are several in of this group, just like there are several out of the forty-one existing brothers, with whom I feel a deeper this-guy-has-to-be-related-to-me connection. These men spur me on closer to Christ and bear my burdens as I, theirs. All of this to say, I am thankful for these kind of relationships God has put in my life and find new meaning in joy in Solomon’s words: “A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.” (Proverbs 17:17)

  4. Pingback: Shine on, Beautiful Mama, Super Sweet, Best Moment, Reality Blog Awards! | Prayers and Promises

  5. I have some dear friends that live far from me. I am so thankful for technology that keeps that closer. They can never be replaced. They are treasures, for sure. A gift. A necessity. Thank you for your words.
    I am visiting from FMF.

    • Thank you for stopping by! I love your blog. Love them name. Technology is a HUGE blessing nowadays that we can sure make the world smaller. I wonder what it was like for people 20-30 years ago and beyond that left friends and family to go on the mission field and how it was for them….letters were the most likely form of communication. While I think we have lost a precious art in the handwritten letter (I sure don’t do them like I always wish I would), it sure is a blessing to have instantaneous communication with people we love. Blessings!

    • Well, thank you so much for stopping by even though you didn’t participate in FMF last week. Next week maybe? Look forward to reading more from you. Blessings!

  6. It’s true to tow are better than one, think back again even I’m alone I never really are alone coz our creator really with us all the way. Thank you for visiting me greetings from new friends.

    • Yes, new friends. Yes, our creator is the ultimate friend and He calls us “Friend.” Thankful for divine friendships that He sets up for us here on earth to enrich our lives and bring glory to Him. Thank you for stopping by my blog. Love yours! Blessings!

  7. Wonderful post and thank you for the link back to my article. God bless you and may the friendships you have continue to enrich your life!

Leave a Reply

