Christianity / Dream Big / faith / God / God-sized dream / Uncategorized

Daring to Dream–A God-Sized Dream and a free book giveaway

IMG_1527IMG_2816 copy

dreambig1

selah5.jpg

Something inside of my heart dares to dream big.

And to actually believe it will happen.

Remember Cabbage Patch Kids? I was obsessed with getting one in early elementary school. One day I dreamed so hard for a doll that as I sat in my classroom, I could focus on nothing else.

That day my mom picks me up in her old Ford wagon. I grab my younger sister’s hand and we dive into the backseat. My legs stick to the hot black vinyl seat under my denim Oshkosh overalls dress. I can’t wait to get home.

All day long I had been praying that God would give me a Cabbage Patch Doll and that it would be waiting tucked away under the bunk bed I shared with my sister. Yes, you heard me right. It was going to magically appear under my bed. I was dreaming big.

As we pull into our driveway, the car hardly stops before I throw open the car door, run through the front door, drop my school bag and SPRINT to my bedroom. I slide onto my knees to peak under my bed, with hopeful expectation welling up inside my heart that I would find that beautiful, large-faced Cabbage Patch Doll wrapped up just for me.

But what do I find?

NOTHING.

That’s right, I found no cabbage patch doll that day.

Because I have a very kind and very generous mother, a few weeks later she took me to the Rexall Drug Store to wait in line when they received a shipment of new Cabbage Patch Dolls just to fulfill my dream.

It was a big dream for a little girl and oh my faith was strong that I would find it under my bed.

I learned something that day that I never forgot: God wants to give us good gifts, but they happen in His timing.

I also learned that I would rather believe God for something HUGE and have it not happen the way I plan than to stop dreaming for fear of disappointment.

Well, my dreams have changed. They’ve grown larger….and a lot more Jesus-centered.

And I still believe God can fulfill every dream in my heart.

I want to dare to believe God for the God-breathed, God-sized, impossible, unimaginable, out of my reach dreams –and the audacity to believe He can and will actually fulfill them.

So, that’s just what I’m going to do.

I’m going to dare to believe that the God-sized dreams He has placed in my heart, He is also able to fulfill.

Yes, it probably won’t look exactly like what I envision (hint….I learned that with the Cabbage Patch Doll), but He is the dream fulfiller and HE IS ABLE.

No obstacle is too great for Him.

Yesterday, I received a little seed money in the mail toward one of my dreams of taking my 5-year-old to fulfill her dream. You can read my daughter’s awesome God-sized dream story here. It will inspire you.

So, today I’m going to pay it forward.

In honor of Mother’s Day, I am giving away one FREE copy of Holley Gerth’s book, You’re Made for a God-Sized Dream: Opening the Door to All God Has for You to help you on your journey to fulfilling your God-sized dream.

This is a must read.

God-Sized-Dreams-by-Holley-Gerth-cover-662x1024

Leave a comment in this post with YOUR God sized dream to enter to win a free copy. (Hint: every dream counts!)

The winner will be announced on Friday.

Happy Dreaming!

I’m linked up over here today.

Photo credit #3
Related articles

 

61 thoughts on “Daring to Dream–A God-Sized Dream and a free book giveaway

    • Hey there! Thank you for your email. I love your story. Inspiring. I can’t believe you remembered after all that time! Even I had to think back to that question I asked. God is a great reminder, isn’t He? Blessings and thank you for stopping by my blog again.

    • I remember too the Cabbage Patch Doll craze! But like all worldly desires, these things pass and God and his love for us remains. The best part is we don’t even have to go searching for it! Great post 🙂

      • 🙂 So true. Worldly desires pass and God’s love remains. Yes, that is so true, I had to search for that Cabbage Patch, but He is faithful and we can fulfill His purpose for us because He first loved us. Blessings to you!

  1. I remember the popularity of the cabbage patch dolls, every kid had to have one. Ah, good times. Thank you for your inspiration and bringing back great memories! 🙂

    • That is awesome. That is a big God-sized dream for me today also! I want my kids and grandchildren to love Him with all their heart, to be captivated by Him at a young age. That is a big dream and God is able. Blessings to you!

  2. Precious pictures and words! I too was a Cabbage Patch girl dreamer…thankfully my mom braved the crowds of ToysRUs one Christmas to get my sister and me one of our own! Waiting is so hard…for kids…and for adults! Fellow God-Sized Dreamer…carry on! Thanks for the follow too by the way! 🙂

  3. Cracking up over the Cabbage Patch Kid analogy! So true and so clever of you to make the connection! Love your blog! BTW – I’m a HUGE Kale lover, too! 🙂

    • Well, we must be related. So unusual! My husband says his mom used to put Cream of Mushroom soup in EVERYTHING and he says that I am like that with kale. It is true. I don’t know why I like it so much! Anyway, so glad you stopped by and enjoyed. Blessings to you!!! Loved yours. 😉

  4. Coming over from the Dream Team:) I LOVED your post! Gosh, so what I needed to hear right now, in this exact moment. God spoke through you to me and I am so thankful. I will hold to this:
    “I would rather believe God for something HUGE and have it not happen the way I plan than to stop dreaming for fear of disappointment.”
    Thank you Kirsten!

    • I’m so glad! When we grow up we are believing for things a little more important than Cabbage Patch Kids, but praying BOLD prayers can be scary sometimes because God can say “no” or they might not happen how we think, but God is such a good Father, isn’t He? In His mercy He takes what we want and gives us what we need and I know His heart is for us and like a good father, He WANTS to fulfill every dream in our hearts. He is trustworthy. Thank you so much for stopping by and look forward to reading more from your blog. Blessings!

  5. Wow!! I am feeling put on the spot to just be transparent about my God-sized dreams. I haven’t felt nervous and happy about sharing something in quite a while especially when I don’t talk openly about certain things much but here I go:

    When I was about 15yrs old, I was told by my GYN that I most likely would not be able to have children as an adult because I had some really bad reproductive issues. Prior to that day for years I used to dream about this man who was a Christian, a military solider and our first child that was a girl. I could never see his face for years. Only a shadow. Nothing more. Something deep deep down inside of me knew that I would have this dream come true. I also wanted to be married on the beach being that I had never seen one a day in my life except on tv. Living in Ohio, I was far from one and my family didn’t do much traveling. To go back to the GYN bad news, it did not phase me one bit because I knew in my heart that I would one day have children. In the process I also had a God-sized dream to one day be a surrogate for women who could not carry their own children. I didn’t want any money from it. I did not want to profit at all. I just wanted to bless someone with a bundle of joy.

    Fast forward about 5 years. I went into the Army and met that man I always dreamed of that I could not see as a teenager. He was a Christian and a soldier. We became serious after 2years. He took me to his hometown and proposed to me on the beach ( after I got out the hospital from being bit multiple times by Brown Recluse spider(s) that required surgery. Because of various things we did not get to marry on the beach but I was content to just see a beach knowing my future would allow me to visit the beach many times with my future husband. A year after marriage, we welcomed our 1st of 6 children into the world!!

    Man may say one thing BUT GOD has the final say!! My HOPE and DREAMS could not be taken from me. God fulfilled them thus far!

    A few years ago I shared with my husband my desire to become a surrogate. I would only want to be a carrier not giving up one of my own eggs unless The Lord sees fit and I still would not want to profit from it. This dream had not burnt out. I don’t know what the future holds but I do have a husband who has not knocked my dream that I believe The Lord gave me because I never even heard of surrogacy as a teen and knew very little about sex. Yes I was a late bloomer and I am still proud of it because I knew that I wanted to save myself for my husband and it would get figured out somehow! Lol.

    Sorry for the long drawn out story but those were my dreams and my nearest over the passing years is to be a woman who could reach many through encouragement because I believe deeply in God and all that I know He can do for us. He’s my Dream Keeper! Every chance I get, I look at the stars and think about many out across this world that can be loved and encouraged from afar. Prayer goes a long way and I trust God for the outcome as I pour my heart out for those I don’t even know.

    God bless you and thank you for giving me this platform in Christ Jesus,

    Terra

  6. Loved this post!!! I want to learn to dream big – God sized dreams!!! I have a few – one, writing my testimony and the faithfulness of God in my life in book format. It’s just scary to start, as I’m not a writer. 🙂

    • That is amazing! You are an author, dreamer, encourager. That is brave…. I can relate! I’ve always wanted to write a book….so scary. Blessings to you! Looking forward to reading that book from YOU in the future. 😉

      • I hope it points to Jesus….if not this would be a lame blog! You are encouraging. Thank you for your kind words. Blessings!

      • Haha … that’s exactly how I feel about my blog … although it is about running, ultimately it is about Jesus and His amazing love for us!!! It all goes together … it all comes from Him … 🙂

  7. This is an amazing post:) Nice illustration of childlike faith, very inspiring! I will share my big dream with you. I spent many years behind limestone prison walls in a maximum security facility. In 2007, two and a half years before my release I found God. I walked with Him for the 2.5 yrs, got out and continue to walk with Him this day. While in prison, I spent the majority of time in God’s Word, I couldn’t put it down. I love serving God and I prayed and said God, I would love to be a motivational/inspirational speaker one day sharing what you have done in my life. I pray ceaselessly, fervently, earnestly about this everyday. That is my big dream:) God bless you and yours.

  8. “God wants to give us good gifts, but they happen in His timing.” I, too learned that same lesson as a youngster but I had forgotten it some where along the line until recently when He shook my foundation and taught it to me all over again. Thanks for being both a reminder and a conformation.

  9. Thanks so much for this uplifting post! This is such a blessing to me. I have a couple of God-sized dreams. My first dream is for my son to grow up knowing Jesus and loving Him with all his heart, soul, and strength. And my second is be a fiction writer. I’ve dreamed of this since I was in second grade. :0)

  10. What a great reminder that God is sovereign in ALL His ways even if they aren’t what we have planned. I am currently seeking Christ as a single gal and my relationship with Christ as my one true love has blossomed into a glorious journey. God placed the dream in my heart at an early age to go into “all” the world and preach the gospel. As I grew in my faith walk and after searching for my idea of love, I realized that no other love could compare to that of my First Love. As I began to see my love story unfold with Jesus, my dream to go into all the world came true. This July I will be traveling to Uganda. As I look at my lifelong dream about to come true, new dreams are planted. I know that Gods plans for my trip will over exceed my expectations and I cannot contain my excitement! I am so thankful that God supplies what I need plus an abundance! He is always enough! When His dreams become my dreams, He becomes more and I become less. Praying for His dreams to come true in my life!

  11. Boy can I relate! For the last several months I’ve felt like the thoroughbred chomping at the bit- ready to go do what God has planned for me to do- only, I’m not quite sure what that is 🙂 Patience is a hard lesson to learn, but those dreams of reaching people for Christ through pain and adversity are well worth the wait. I’ve always had huge dreams, and, thankfully, I have the tenacity to make them come true. Very timely piece for me…thank you for it!

    Be blessed,

    Guy

  12. I love this idea and I am very inspired that we shared the same obsession as children 🙂 I got my premie from Consumers Distributing!!! lol…

    I’d say my happy God dream is to live in constant awareness of His presence in my life and to rub it off on all people I meet. If that happens to result in teaching or leading worship again, I’m all over that. I’d love the book 🙂

  13. That was such a wonderful post! I never did get the cabbage patch doll as a child, my aunt bought me an imitation one for Christmas (a little disappointing). But my mum brought me a beautiful one for my 30th birthday 🙂
    I’m dreaming of a house of our own and I pray in Jesus name, your daughters God size dream, exceeds all she can hope, think or imagine! May His blessings overflow to her always.
    Kimmy

  14. This is so what’s on my heart right now! I actually have read this book! It is what has inspired me to pursue my dream of becoming a Christian marriage and family counselor and offering my services at a low cost for those who can’t afford counseling. I have been through plenty of my own struggles, and I am so thankful for counselors who were more concerned about helping me than about making money. I’m only in the beginning stages of trying to get into grad school, but it’s an exciting time. Thank you for stopping by my blog, and thank you for the inspiring post!

  15. I am currently working thru the book and trying to narrow in on my God sized dream. I know it has something to do with my NeedlePrayer ministry and blog, but. The details are still hidden from me. The book rocks! I’m glad to see other people sharing from it too…

  16. I really liked this post, it reminded me that my “penthouse house” dreams are just God’s “basement” performances. This is to simply said that we can never dream to big for God. I believe that we just stop dreaming though and therefore place God in a box. This post inspired me to continue to think big, dream big, and walk by faith big. Thanks for the follow as well. Great Blessings

  17. I dream to self-publish the book I have been writing for sometime now. That would be so big for me!!! I’m blessed with 5 lovely & lively children, so it is challenging, but our big God can do big things!!!

    • That’s awesome. So inspiring. I have a friend who just wrote a book hoping to get self-published, and she got published! She didn’t think it would ever happen with little kids and then it was like she had a God moment when He just downloaded this whole story to her and she wrote it very quickly. God can give you the grace for what He’s called you to do even if it’s writing a book with 5 kids running around you (and we all know that would be impossible without God’s grace, right? You’ll officially be a grace inspired super mom!)

      • Amen. So true. I came over to nominate you for a blog award, which I will post in another comment in another post, and I’m going to end up writing about my God size dream instead. I don’t think I have just one. I have several so the hardest part is narrowing it down to one. My dreams are to write and publish a book, to go to Israel, to travel the world to speak about what Jesus is doing and to encourage women and men to walk in freedom in Christ, to know that they have value, that they have a purpose, future and a hope in Him. My God size dream for right now is to see the street women (prostitutes, victims of human trafficking) we will be working with here really want to walk in freedom in Christ and to know that they have value because of what He did for them and that their past does not define who they are.
        I believe that if we delight in the Lord and walk closely with Him, He will put the desires of His heart into ours and we just have to walk it out, step by step with Him. And in His time, not ours, we will see the fruit of that dream. Maybe, we won’t ever see it; Abraham never did, but he believed and so planted the seed of the dream.
        Many blessings to you!

      • Yep. I don’t know how anyone accomplishes anything apart from God’s grace kids or not. =)
        Thank you for that, it could be done this story is just another proof.

  18. This post hits close to home. I have been doing a lot of dreaming lately, hoping to organize them to goals and then plans. However I have forgotten the most important part of these dreams, and that is keeping it Jesus-centered. As I continue to dream big dreams, set goals, and make big plans, your post was a lovely reminder not only to keep God at the center of my life, but to keep Him at the center of my dreams too. Thanks for your post!

    Andrea
    http://www.sincerelyandrea.com

  19. Pingback: God-Sized Dreams–How to change the world one moment at a time | godschick

  20. My dream… My dream is to see God living His dream of changing lives through me in a reckless abandonned way. My dream is to someday tell the world there’s still hope.

  21. Excellent lesson from the Cabbage Patch doll dream–God’s timing, His way. Seems like I still need to learn that lesson over and over. I’m not sure I have a God-sized dream–maybe it’s to draw closer to Jesus every day so I can be a really useable servant to Him. By the way, thanks for following my blog.

  22. My God sized dream is to live a life where every day is a litte better than the day before: more love, more servanthood, more happiness. A life where I am happy in the skin I am, free from comparison. A life where my wants align with God’s will.

  23. Great blog
    Thought you may enjoy these thoughts

    God IS blessing your blog

    “It’s kinda fun to do the impossible.”
    -anon

    “It always seems impossible…

    until it get’s done.”

    – Nelson Mandela

    All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them.”

    – Walt Disney

    “Faith sees the invisible, believes the unbelievable and
    receives the impossible.”
    – Corrie Ten Boom

    Always remember,
    God’s dreams are far bigger than you could have imagined yourself.

    • And also, I LOVE Corrie Ten Boom. One of my heroes. So true….God’s dreams are always so much bigger than our dreams and He wants us to get there even more than we do. Such a great reminder. Thank you for sending these.

    • And also, I LOVE Corrie Ten Boom. One of my heroes. So true….God’s dreams are always so much bigger than our dreams and He wants us to get there even more than we do. Such a great reminder. Thank you for sending these.

Leave a Reply

