Bible / Christianity / Decision-making / god speaks / Holy Spirit / Knowing God's Will / purpose

How to Know the Will of God (If you wish you could just Google search God for the answer…)

flower2.jpg

In our hyped up super techie generation, sometimes I sit down at my computer and just have the urge to google search God’s plan for my life. That’s the honest truth.

Over the last several years, I’ve had so many big decisions to make and I want more than anything to be in God’s perfect will. Thankfully, His will is hard to miss when you want to obey Him more than anything else.

Years ago, my pastor taught us some practical steps to take that are Scripturally based on how to know God’s will for your life. I’ve adapted them and made them my own. I’ve prayed through the following on almost every big decision I’ve made in the last several years, mostly in the following order. It’s not a google search to the answer, but the its a tool that has really helped me discern God’s will in decision-making.

1) Scriptural Revelation. Is the decision I’m making Biblical? Am I violating any scriptures? Have I read the Bible in the midst of this decision? Is there a Word from God’s Word for me about this? The Bible is God’s word to us. If it violates something in Scripture, then you can stop here and know that it is not God. Psalm 119:105

2) The Cross Filter. Am I submitted to the Lord Jesus Christ? I have a will and plan everyday and I need to bring my will to the cross and submit it to Him. Am I okay with something working out differently than I planned? If not, it’s a good indication that my will is not surrendered to Him. Not my own plan, will, ideas, but His will, plan and ideas. This filters my will at the Cross. Proverbs 3:5-6

3) The Renewed Mind. Am I using good judgement? Am I thinking clearly? Have I let His word wash and renew my mind?  Am I reacting to circumstance or responding in faith to God? We don’t want to make a big decision as a reaction or backlash to fear or pain or bad circumstance in our lives. Instead, we want to respond to God’s leading and speaking as we move forward in a faith decision. He want to be faith responders, not fear reactors. Romans 12:2

4) Wise Counsel. How do the people closest to me feel? Do they confirm this as a good decision? Wise counsel isn’t always the people who tell us what we want to hear. Wise counsel could be parents, pastors and friends who genuinely want God’s best for you more than for you to be comfortable or to get your own way. Ask them to pray and hear from the Lord with you. If this is God’s will, the wise counsel in your life will eventually be in agreement. Proverbs 15:22

5) Spirit-led. Am I led by the Holy Spirit? We have word and ALSO the Holy spirit. Has God spoken to me?  Do I feel led by the Holy Spirit in this decision? Am I spending time with the Lord daily? Is He breathing life into me? Am I allowing time for the Holy Spirit to be communing with my spirit? Another way to say it would be, “Have I felt God speak to my heart?” Romans 8:14

6) Peace. Am I being led by peace? Or do I feel an uneasiness as we move forward in this decision? We can get thru all of them and not have peace. Real peace remains and abides. Romans 14:17

7) Circumstances. Is there an open door? Has God made a way for circumstances to line up? Just because we have an open door doesn’t necessarily mean it’s the will of God, but circumstances will confirm the will of God. If it’s God’s will, there will eventually be an open door and it will confirm what God has been speaking. 1 Corinthians 16:9

8) Supernatural Confirmation. Have I received supernatural confirmation? For example, maybe you are in the midst of a big decision wondering if it’s the will of God. It lines up with Scripture, you have peace, circumstances line up, and then one Sunday you’re at church and someone prays over you and tells you the same scripture that God put in your heart. Or, maybe you’ve been praying for finances to come in to confirm it’s God’s will and you receive a big contribution. Those are just some examples, and this kind of confirmation could be many things, but eventually, you’ll feel that supernatural confirmation. Mark 16:20

9) Fruit. What fruit will this produce? Will this help people? What kind of fruit (good works that extend His Kingdom on the earth and in your life) will this decision manifest in my life and how will it help people? 1 Peter 5

Blessings!

Photo Credit

25 thoughts on “How to Know the Will of God (If you wish you could just Google search God for the answer…)

    • I am so so so so glad it helped you. Really, I’m so thankful. Praise God. He is so faithful, even in the midst of trials and huge decisions. Blessings to you!

  1. This is a very thorough list. It presents things in ways I hadn’t considered. Thanks for sharing it. We have some big decisions looming ahead and this will be helpful. Blessings.

    • I also have some big decision….I’m in the midst of them. I can relate! I’m so thankful for my pastor who originally taught on this because it has helped me so much. It’s not rules or regulations, but really just some tools to help. God is always speaking….sometimes it just helps me hear, I guess. Blessings to you and all the big decisions coming up for you. Many blessings, God’s favor, grace grace grace and lots of joy. Thanks for stopping by.

    • You are the best. 🙂 I know….that’s a really toughie for me. My will is strong. Sure helps me check my will (like a coat check) at the Cross. Helpful for sure!

  2. nicely written! having gone through a lot of changes ourselves, I totally agree with what you said. and i thank God for meeting you in this vast blogosphere! i’m sharing this on my page. blessings!

  3. Pingback: How to Know the Will of God (If you wish you could just Google search God for the answer…) | Life in circle

  4. Oh gosh Kristen, I have to admit I’ve done the google search thing too! We’re so used to being able to get answers on demand, and God doesn’t work like that!

    • No kidding! So true. So tempting to try to hear from God in an easier, quicker and more convenient process. God cares a little more about our relationship to Him and our development in the process than just getting the answer to us though, right? Really, I can relate sister. Your comment gave me a little giggle….likeminded. 🙂 Thanks for that! Blessings to you!

    • Very true….about discerning God’s will for our lives. God is so faithful….and it can just be hard to hear sometimes….or WAIT on Him. All of the above for me. Glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for taking time to stop by. Hope you had a wonderful weekend! Blessings to you!

  5. I just found this post today – guess I needed to hear it. I’m in a situation right now where I’m trying to discern God’s will – keep on pluggin’ with working at home and being more here, more present, for my family, or go back to a full-time office job on someone else’s schedule? Finances are tight right now, which would seem to make the thought of a full-time job somewhere really tempting – except it’s not. Your post is going to be a big help to me in focusing my thoughts and prayers (I tend to be a bit scatterbrained! LOL). Thank you for sharing your heart.

Leave a Reply

