Christianity / faith / Five Minute Friday / trust

The In Between–Encouragement for when you’re not quite where you want to be yet…

20130515-113151.jpg

20130515-113207.jpg

selahflower.jpg

“Stop, Mommy! You’re walking too fast. It’s too far. My legs hurt!”

We’ve only walked a half mile along this lake path. The sun reflects hot off the lake. I’m already sweating. I hear a seagull somewhere in the distance.

And there’s my daughter keeping pace behind me in her jean shorts cut offs and sparkly sneakers, her blond hair blowing in the warm breeze. My son, he’s running up ahead, like there’s nothing stopping him, not a care in the world.

She sits down on the grass and says she needs a break.

I told you not to run backwards for so long. It makes you more tired than walking,” I tell her.

“I know, it’s just that it seems so far when I can see the end of the lake from here,” she says with a hint of defeat in her voice. On the lake path, we can see all the way to the end of the lake from our door.

We still have another half mile to walk. It’s not far for me with the baby jogger, but to her little legs, it must feel like a marathon.

Just yesterday, we walked the same distance down the sidewalk instead of the lake path. The urban landscape blocks the view. You can only see the block in front of you. For some reason, block by block seems a little more manageable to her than starting with the end of the lake in sight.

And sometimes when we’re in that in between season of life, when we’re not quite where we want to be, when we’re plodding along wishing we could see the end, longing for a glimpse of the final destination, wondering what the future might look like, we just need to keep walking.

One foot in front of the other.

One step at a time.

When all we can see is the space right in front of us, we just keep moving forward. He’s hallowed out this place for us so we can trust Him. Just one step at a time.

We reach the end of the lake. My kids are a little worn out.

I decide to walk home on the sidewalk.

The urban blocks drown out the distance. No one complains when all we can see is the block in front of us.

And sometimes we wish we could see the end destination, but in His grace He just tells us to take the step in front of us. He gives us one step, maybe one block of ground to take when we want the mile.

He says, “Trust me.”

He sees the end from the beginning. He knows where we’re headed, and He just believes that’s enough for us.

And it is.

He’s got it covered. He is the Beginning and the End. He’s completing what He started in you and me.

And it will be wonderful.

One step at a time.

“I am the Alpha and the Omega, the first and the last, the beginning and the end.” (Rev. 22:13)

“…being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” (Phil 1:6)

Five Minute Friday is a feature over at Lisa-Jo Bakers TALES FROM A GYPSY MAMA blog.

So, let’s do this thing. Let’s write.

Set your timer, clear your head, for five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right.

Image

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

 

 

40 thoughts on “The In Between–Encouragement for when you’re not quite where you want to be yet…

    • Thank you! Look forward to reading your again too! I’ve visited you from FMF before! Yes, the in betweens….challenging….a trust walk. Blessings to you!

    • Yes! Looking forward to more. Yes, those “in betweens”…can be tough and tiring seasons of life, but reminds me too today that He doesn’t just know the beginning and the end, He IS the Beginning and the End and God over everything in between. Thank you so much for stopping by and reading.

  1. It is truly amazing that in nature there must be nothing fun to focus on and it just seems like a random walk with no purpose to children. Great post. I like comparing life to driving in the dark on a highway, we only get to see whats in front of us but the road keeps unfolding. Love, peace and chicken grease. God is good

  2. Hi Godschick, how’s God’s Dude doing? Hope all is well on your end. I enjoyed this post. One step at a time, so true. We walk by faith and not by sight, at least it’s what the Lord wants.

    Thank you for the like on my blog.

  3. Pingback: Five Minute Friday: In Between | Writing Canvas

  4. Great post! Insightful and encouraging! One step, and a one day, at a time…it’s all we can really count on anyway!

  5. Great post! I think we as humans think we can handle it if we always see the “end” but the journey there wears us out and we lose heart when we think it is closer than it looks. God, in His wisdom, shows us only what we can handle at the pace we are going so we will keep going and not lose heart to reach the end. I love the illustration!

    • Yes, so true. He cares a lot about us and our character in the process…preparing us to fulfill our calling along our way to it. Love your insight. Thanks for stopping by and reading. Blessings to you!

  6. The Lord is seriously speaking to my heart! Timely and encouraging message, Kirsten! Thank you so much dear sister….

    Hugs, love and blessings in the Lord always,

    Terra

  7. Thanks for this, confirming what I’m reading at the moment: Future Grace by John Piper – how we live out our present and future in the trust gained from his grace to us in our past. So much in my past I wish I could have changed, but it’s all part of a plan. I can look back and see how things that happened outside my control really were good things after all (Romans 8:28). Grace be with you.

    • So true. God is sovereign and can redeem anything for His glory. I hope I am proof and I hope He will still redeem many things in the future. I’m so glad it was confirming for you. Thanks for reading.

  8. This post ties in with the piece I just wrote “On Death and Dying” (which you “liked”! Thank you so much for liking my post!)

    “And sometimes when we’re in that in between season of life, when we’re not quite where we want to be, when we’re plodding along wishing we could see the end, longing for a glimpse of the final destination, wondering what the future might look like, we just need to keep walking.”

    Thank you for reminding me to “just keep walking.” I will do just that. One step at a time.

  9. Please, if you have time, go view my update to “On Death and Dying.” I uploaded a picture of my grama at the end, but I think you had visited before I updated it. I’d like you to see it, too.

  10. I’m a little late finding this post (and your blog in general), but it sounds so perfect for me now… My husband being between two calls, waiting for the right congregations to ask him to be their minister, we are facing trying times and we try to give thanks everyday for this opportunity to learn patience and to strengthen our faith in Him. Your story was inspiring. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

