perfect love / Redemption

Meet Me at the Well

meetmeatthewell1

I’ve had my share of disappointment. I’ve know what it’s like to have my confidence knocked down.

I haven’t been married five times, and I haven’t lived in the shoes of the Samaritan woman in John 4, but something deep in me can relate to this woman Jesus so boldly and lovingly pursued.

She’s a woman that’s looked for fulfillment in all the wrong places, hoping the next man would fill the void. Five times to be exact. She’s been the laughing stock of town women. Gossiped about. Abused. She’s never fit in. She’s lonely and ashamed, so much so that she plans her daily walks to the water well just outside town at times of day she can go alone. She’s isolated. Alone. Broken.

And for some reason this woman made it into the Bible. I have a hunch there’s something in each of us that can relate to her. We may not have experienced abuse or the severe consequences of some of her poor decisions she’s made (or maybe we have….we’re still just as valuable to God and He is a redeemer), but if we’re really honest with ourselves, we’ve all walked down avenues looking for something to fill us that can never really satisfy.

We’ve all experienced pain. No one walks through this life unscathed. Maybe we’ve hung our hope on circumstance; or maybe we thought that things would be better if only our situation was a little different; or thought things would be easier if other people would just change; or maybe we’ve searched for significance in possessions or places that fall short of eternal hope. 

Or maybe we’re like the religious Jews who avoided Samaria. We avoid the unlovely, the broken, the messes. People like that are too much commitment, too much discomfort. They’re too needy. We make a list of legitimate reasons to excuse ourselves from being the hands and feet of Jesus to the hurting, wounded and broken. We got to great lengths to avoid situations which will put us in their path. Unfortunately, it’s been common in the Church. And it’s been me too. Could it be we’ve forgotten where we were before Jesus met us and redeemed us?

And Jesus had to go through Samaria, the very place all Jews went too great lengths to avoid. He had to go to this woman. He was drawn to the broken.

Here He is willing to walk through the unlovely, unworthy, messy ground to meet her, to meet us, to know us. His pursuit is relentless and His love is endless. And here He is longing to know us and He goes to great lengths to meet us in the place of brokenness. At the well.

For her, the well represented a place of pain, and this well of pain is also the very place Jesus would meet her and give her living water from a well that never runs dry–fulfillment in Him. Redemption. 

Sometimes pain and brokenness are the very things that bring us to the well that never runs dry.

So today, I meet Him at the well. I choose to hold nothing back.

At this deep well, He offers an opportunity to be known intimately, seen completely and He loves us still. This is our confidence. He is our hope. He gives perfect love.

The Bible says that many more believed in Jesus because of this woman. 

Can you relate to the woman at the well? Or do you feel like you relate to the ones who avoided Samaria?

But blessed are those who trust in the Lord and have made the Lord their hope and confidence. Jer 17:7 NLT

Then you will know that I am the Lord; those who hope in me will not be disappointed. Isa 49:23 NIV

Proverbs31Bloghop

28 thoughts on “Meet Me at the Well

  1. I can relate to her but I can also relate to those that avoided her and then I can relate to Jesus in the way he reached out to her. I can relate to them through my own stages of spiritual growth and maturity in life. I can relate to her pain when I myself was broken. I can relate to those that avoided her when I was at rock bottom and didn’t have the strength to reach out to someone else. And I can relate to Jesus in my life today where my heart leads to help others in everything I do. Great post!

  2. Meet me at the well! Beautiful picture of Jesus’ love. As I reached middle age, I was surprised to discover I still had some shame from my youthful straying from God. In a “well moment” he told me to look into his eyes, and I was overcome with the love I saw there. No more shame!

  3. Pingback: In The Story | One Passion One Devotion

  4. This year I have experienced the pain of losing a child and it was that ‘moment’ that bought me much closer to God. He is with us through it all and he knows us and all we are going through, but it is also up to us to pour out to him and then allow him to fill us all over again.. thanks for your words.

    • Alana…I follow your blog but have been away a while…I feel like I missed this and my heart is broken for you! What happened? Are you okay? Saw you guys took some people to India…but when did this happen? Praying for you…

      • I lost a baby boy back in May..I was 16 weeks pregnant at the time so it was awhile ago now…was a very hard time but God just walked that whole journey with me and I am very thankful for his presence. Jeremy was in India and Nepal in August with his brother, they had a really good trip – lots of good stuff happening which is very cool! I was at home for this trip tho – hanging out until I can go back!!!

  5. I think if we are honest we can all relate to the woman at the well. I loved reading your blog. Thanks for sharing. That part about “So today, I meet Him at the well. I choose to hold nothing back.

    At this deep well, He offers an opportunity to be known intimately, seen completely and He loves us still. This is our confidence. He is our hope. He gives perfect love.” resonated with me. Debbie W. (OBS Facebook Group Leader)

  6. Pingback: The Broken Cistern | Proverbs 31 Wanna-be

  7. This is beautiful! I can relate to having met Jesus so many times at the well. What always thrills me and humbles me greatly is that he never judges me. Would love to share this on our blog! Thank you for writing this. Xx

  8. Pingback: Meet Me at the Well | Beauty for Ashes

  9. Pingback: Meet Me at the Well | A disciple's study

Leave a Reply

